Still Sewing Away…

I haven’t stopped sewing!  The last couple of weeks I’ve been slowly making clothes for my niece, Maddie (just turned one!).  Making clothes for little ones is so much fun.  You hardly need any fabric and it goes so quickly.  The only problem was that I didn’t use any patterns and I attempted to size them off measurements alone.  This method actually worked pretty well, although I definitely had to make some adjustments after Maddie tried them on.  

mosiac5

I love this shirred dress I made for Maddie.  It looks so cute on her!  Stay tuned for a possible Tutorial plus pictures of Maddie modeling her outfits.

mosiac6

I made the most simple jean skirt for Maddie.  I took a pair of my husbands old jeans (these are 7 For All Mankind jeans that got holey) and keeping the original leg hem, I cut about 12″ up from the hem.  I used fold-over elastic (thanks Angry Chicken!) to create an elastic waist out of the old jean leg.  Then, just to finish it up I added a white trim to the bottom hem.  That’s it!

img_3224

Onto food…here’s a recipe for my all-time favorite burger.  It is so easy to make and tastes better than any burger you will order at a restaurant (seriously!).

mosiac7

Gorgonzola Burger (4 servings)

1 1/3 lb lean ground beef
3 tbsp. good barbecue sauce
1 glug (technical term, guys) worcestershire sauce 
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
couple pinches kosher salt
freshly ground pepper 
1/4 cup crumbled gorgonzola 

 

Garlic Aioli (recipe follows)

3 tbsp. mayonnaise
2 tsp. lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. dijon mustard 
1 tsp. fresh basil, finely minced 

4 english muffins

 

In a standing mixer (or in a bowl) combine the first six ingredients.  Mix to thoroughly combine, but don’t overwork the meat. Add the gorgonzola and mix briefly.

Form the meat into 4 evenly sized patties and immediately refrigerate for at least 10 minutes (up to a day ahead).

Prepare your grill pan or outdoor barbecue to a high heat.  If using a grill pan, lightly grease with olive oil.  Grill the burgers until they are cooked through (no pink, time will vary depending on your grill).

Toast the english muffins and top with the garlic aioli.  Other condiments could include fresh tomato slices, basil, or crisp lettuce (although I prefer this burger very simple, it will have plenty of flavor!).  Top each muffin with a gorgonzola patty and enjoy your gourmet meal!

7 Responses

  1. The pink dress is my favorite! I bet Maddie looked adorable in it. Keep sewing, Sis!

  2. Jae is very impressed with all of this. (I don’t know if you took a look yet, but we have a blog about Ella & Livi as well as some other stuff…I don’t sew or cook gourmet like you though!)

  3. I love everything! Thanks so much for the clothes for Maddie- I will post pics soon of her wearing everything! The burgers were amazing too! Love you!

  4. so cute! I’ve been making baby clothes. Not from scratch like you though. Just embellishing onesies. It’s so fun!

  5. I’m definitely going to have to try cooking that burger sometime. I love Gorgonzola cheese!

    Oh yeah, hi.

  6. Hi Sarah, you are my favorite daughter.

  7. Those burgers look delish! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment